Mountain & Plains Square Dance Council
  • MAPSDC: Welcome

    WELCOME TO THE WEB SITE FOR THE MOUNTAINS & PLAINS
    SQUARE DANCE COUNCIL, CO … WY … NE

    Thank you for visiting this site to find information on dances,
    lessons and other activities in and around northeastern Colorado,
    southeastern Wyoming and the panhandle of Nebraska.
     
    THIS WEEK in the MAPSDSC
     
    It was a busy week up here in theMAPSDC area.  Lots of good dancing.  Some clubs had great turnouts and some not so much.  If you have to make a choice of what dance you will attend on a given weekend, how do you make that decision.  This is a topic that usually isn’t brought up, but is very important.  It is important that you let club leadership know what it is that helps you make your decision.  Is it that a particular day or night of the week is always better for you, or maybe the distance you have to travel.  Is it the choice of callers, the type of floor or is it just where you always have the most fun.  Think about it won’t you! Our club leaders are always working to improve your dance experiences.
     
    So for THIS WEEK, let’s start out with Hix and Chix on Wednesday the 13th for their “Hearts and Roses” dance.  Lanny Weaklend will call and the Cuing Sweetheart of Colorado Becky Evans will cue.  Bring you valentine out for this dance on Wednesday.
     
    On Friday the 15th, the Square Dusters will meet at Club Tico in Fort Collins with Lanny Weaklend doing the calling and cueing.  Their theme is “Pounds, Pence and Shillings, British Money Makes Cents”.  I wonder if they will take our green back dollars, no cents are necessary!
     
    On Saturday night the Foot and Fiddlers will be welcoming amateur and aspiring callers for their “Open Mic” night.  Their very own Bryan and Paul will MC this fun evening.  There is always a good turnout for the open mic night each year.  Come out and support those callers and cuers in our area who may some day be our favorite! 
     
    Ralph and I are headed down to Colorado Springs on Saturday for the state festival committee meeting.  Are their any questions that we can relay to the committee.  Are you able to find the info you want on the website,. Have you been to the website.....check it out, it is easy to navigate, looks sharp, and contain lots of good info. www.ColoradoSquareDanceFestival.com
     
    Is your club dances listed on the CSSDA Web calendar.  If your club belongs to one of the four councils in the CSSDA area, your club is entitled to list all your dances on the website. If you need help getting that done, let me know, I am happy to help.
    www.ColoradoSquareDance.com
     
    Have a Magical Week, and Happy Valentines Day!
    Linda
     
                                LARRY AND JERI 2 960x1280                                               Florence 960x1280
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     OVER THE YEARS
    HALL OF FAME AND PIONEER RECIPIENTS 
    Attending the Festivities on 9-29-18
     
    2018 HOF 1280x698
     
2019 Colorado State Square Dance Festival

MAPSDC Area Events...

16Feb
FOOT AND FIDDLE Open Mic Night! Bryan Nolde and Paul Beaudoin as MC, Sat Feb 16 @ 6:00PM - 08:30PM
17Feb
promoImage
Square Dusters Mainstream Lessons by Roger Schappell, Sun Feb 17 @ 6:30PM - 08:30PM
18Feb
FUNSEEKERS 8TH SEASON Hexagon Dancing with Fun seekers, Mon Feb 18 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
19Feb
promoImage
Square Dusters Mainstream Lessons by Roger Schappell, Tue Feb 19 @ 6:30PM - 08:30PM
22Feb
promoImage
Barn Owls Plus Club Dance Lynn Strobel calling., Fri Feb 22 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
24Feb
promoImage
Ponderosa Promenaders Dance Mardi Gras! with Larry Marchese, caller & Mitchell Thompson, Cuer, Sun Feb 24 @ 1:30PM - 04:00PM
24Feb
promoImage
Square Dusters Mainstream Lessons by Roger Schappell, Sun Feb 24 @ 6:30PM - 08:30PM
25Feb
FUNSEEKERS 8TH SEASON Hexagon Dancing with Fun seekers, Mon Feb 25 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
27Feb
HIX N CHIX SQUARE DANCE CLUB "Pie Night" with Bear Miller and Mitchell Thompson, Wed Feb 27 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
01Mar
Square Dusters Which Witch?, Lynn Strobel & Steve Kline, Fri Mar 01 @ 7:30PM - 10:00PM
02Mar
FOOT AND FIDDLE , Sat Mar 02 @ 6:00PM - 08:30PM
04Mar
FUNSEEKERS 8TH SEASON Hexagon Dancing with Fun seekers, Mon Mar 04 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
08Mar
promoImage
Barn Owls Plus Club Dance Roger Schappell calling., Fri Mar 08 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
08Mar
SKIRTS AND SHIRTS SQUARE DANCE CLUB Mike Olivieri and David Smith, Fri Mar 08 @ 7:15PM - 09:30PM
10Mar
promoImage
NORTHEAST CO, CALLERS AND CUERS ASSOC. NECCCA'S Annual New Dancer Jamboree, Sun Mar 10 @ 2:00PM - 05:00PM
11Mar
FUNSEEKERS 8TH SEASON Hexagon Dancing with Fun seekers, Mon Mar 11 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
13Mar
promoImage
HIX N CHIX SQUARE DANCE CLUB Shamrock Shuffle with Marshall Poole and David Smith, Wed Mar 13 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
15Mar
promoImage
Square Dusters What's in a Name?, Mark Hammett & David Smith, Fri Mar 15 @ 7:30PM - 10:00PM
16Mar
FOOT AND FIDDLE , Sat Mar 16 @ 6:00PM - 08:30PM
22Mar
promoImage
Barn Owls Plus Club Dance Bill Heiny calling., Fri Mar 22 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
24Mar
promoImage
Ponderosa Promenaders Dance "Let the Irish Shenanigans Begin", Johnny Preston, Caller & Mitchell Thompson, Cuer, Sun Mar 24 @ 1:30PM - 04:00PM
27Mar
promoImage
HIX N CHIX SQUARE DANCE CLUB "Blue Hawaii" with Mike Olivieri and Becky Evans, Wed Mar 27 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
29Mar
promoImage
Square Dusters Psychedelic Pswing, Roger Schappell & Mitchell Thompson, Fri Mar 29 @ 7:30PM - 10:00PM
30Mar
MAPSDC 5th Saturday Dance , Sat Mar 30 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
05Apr
promoImage
Square Dusters The Aviator, Ken Ritucci & Mitchell Thompson, Fri Apr 05 @ 7:30PM - 10:00PM
10Apr
HIX N CHIX SQUARE DANCE CLUB "Madd Hatter" with Roger Schappell and David Smith, Wed Apr 10 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
12Apr
promoImage
Barn Owls Plus Club Dance Roger Schappell calling., Fri Apr 12 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
12Apr
SKIRTS AND SHIRTS Dave guille and Mitchell Thompson, Fri Apr 12 @ 7:15PM - 09:30PM
19Apr
promoImage
Square Dusters Get Rhythm / Rick Gittleman & Roger Schappell / Mitchell Thompson, Fri Apr 19 @ 7:30PM - 10:00PM
24Apr
HIX N CHIX SQUARE DANCE CLUB DERBY DAYS WITH RICK GITTLEMAN AND MITCHELL THOMPSON, Wed Apr 24 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
26Apr
promoImage
Barn Owls Plus Club Dance Rick Gittleman calling., Fri Apr 26 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
03May
promoImage
Square Dusters Spam Dance, Marshall Poole & Steve Kline, Fri May 03 @ 7:30PM - 10:00PM
08May
HIX N CHIX SQUARE DANCE CLUB SPRING HAS SPRUNG WITH DEAN DEDERMAN, Wed May 08 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
10May
promoImage
Barn Owls Plus Club Dance Bill Heiny calling., Fri May 10 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
10May
SKIRTS AND SHIRTS SQUARE DANCE CLUB Mike Sikorsky and DAvid Smith, Fri May 10 @ 7:15PM - 09:30PM
17May
promoImage
Square Dusters Kentucky Derby, Larry Marchese & David Smith, Fri May 17 @ 7:30PM - 10:00PM
22May
HIX N CHIX SQUARE DANCE CLUB "TRAIL TO STATE" Dave Guille and Becky Evans, Wed May 22 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
24May
promoImage
Barn Owls Plus Club Dance Mike Olivieri calling., Fri May 24 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
14Jun
Colorado State Square Dance Festival "GET RHYTHM" , Fri Jun 14 @12:00PM - 10:00PM - Sat Jun 15 @10:00PM
15Jun
Colorado State Square Dance Festival "GET RHYTHM" , Sat Jun 15 @12:00PM - 10:00PM - Sat Jun 15 @10:00PM
26Jun
promoImage
68th National Square Dance Convention , Wed Jun 26 @ 2:00PM - 10:30PM - Sat Jun 29 @10:30PM
14Jul
promoImage
Square Dusters Barn Dance "Hoedown" / Roger Schappell / David Smith, Sun Jul 14 @ 2:00PM - 05:00PM
11Oct
promoImage
CRDA GALA CRDA 59th Annual Gala at CSU Pueblo, Fri Oct 11 @ 2:00PM - 10:30PM - Sat Oct 12 @10:30PM
12Oct
promoImage
CRDA GALA CRDA 59th Annual Gala at CSU Pueblo, Sat Oct 12 @ 2:00PM - 10:30PM - Sat Oct 12 @10:30PM